Is it just me?

I’m a little irritated today.  I read in the newspaper this morning that Obama has raised approximately 86 million dollars in three months for his campaign.  A few pages later, I read about a local school having a garage sale trying to raise $5000 to pay for fresh fruit and healthy snacks for students.  Am I the only one who sees something wrong with this picture?  Then, while taking my dog for a walk this morning, I saw three homes with newspapers and pizza boxes visible through their garbage bags.  Is it really that inconvenient to recycle?

I think it was Margaret Mead who said “Never underestimate the power of a small group of committed people to change the world.  In fact, it is the only thing that ever has.”  On mornings like this, I have to belive her.  I know there are people, like me, committed to our Earth. (side note: did you see the guy on Hoarders who owned 153 acres of redwood land, to prevent others from destroying it!).  And, I have to believe we will make a difference.

So, this morning I’m taking my organic produce bags and heading to the local farmer’s market.  A traditional Czech kolachky will definitely help this mood!

Daily Green Special:  5% of all purchases (www.favortheearth.com) today will be donated to the local Illinois school trying to raise money for fresh fruit, vegetables and healthy snacks.

Leave a Reply

