The giving keeps going…

I was right, a Czech raspberry kolachky makes everything better!  Before I start with today’s post, I need to thank everyone for helping out yesterday & supporting a local school’s drive for fruits & veggies.  I’m much happier today!

Several years ago, before I had kids, I used to teach high school.  Of course, I was young and thought I could change the educational system.  I chose to work in a tough, impoverished school outside of the city.   I remember a student in my first period class who used to continually fall asleep.  I took it personally, and would get upset.  Not only would he fall asleep, but he never seemed prepared: no pencil, paper, or folder.  I soon learned, he came directly to my class after working the night shift.  The supplies his parents could buy, he gave to his younger siblings so they were prepared for school, he was waiting for payday to buy his own.  The stash of supplies and snacks I kept in my classroom doubled after that day.  Because yesterday’s post got me in the “giving mood,” todays brings another opportunity to help less-fortunate students.

A couple of days ago I mentioned the difference in a few Favor the Earth school/office supplies compared to highly marketed ones.  I promised we’d look at a few more, here’s one for the weekend.  You know those plastic pencil cases that are on every school supply list?  You may want to think twice!  We are diligent about watching for phthalates (which may damages the reproductive system, especially in boys) in toys and food containers, but these plastic cases don’t fall into either category, and therefore aren’t under restricted guidelines.  Some studies are showing that these cases have almost three times the “safe” limit!   If you’re looking for a safer option, our “catch all bags” are a great choice.  Made by hand out of recycled hockey gear, these are totally customizable: choose colors or even add a number!  My son can’t decide between his baseball or hockey team colors.

Daily Green Special:  This one’s good Friday-Sunday.  With every $20 school/office supply purchase (http://www.favortheearth.com/whatsnew.html), we’ll donate a mini-bundle (2 folders, a paper pack, and 3 pencils) to our local “supply drive” for less fortunate students.  Just write “for others” in the customer checkout notes.

 

 

2 responses to “The giving keeps going…

  1. Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this info. Nowadays bloggers publish only about gossips and web and this is actually frustrating. A good site with interesting content, that’s what I need. Thank you for keeping this website, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can’t find it.

Leave a Reply

