A slight alteration…

Today I get to wrap packages, bake cookies & cinnamon rolls, and do a holiday craft with 30 ten-year olds! Did you catch it? I changed one word, which altered my whole attitude. Yesterday I found myself caught up in the “I’m never going to finish everything, Ihave50thingsstilltodo” mind game. As I was driving (semi-frantically) to my last errand (squeezing in seven stops before the kids came home), I passed the Salvation Army store. The line was out the door; husbands, wives, parents, children- all waiting in the cold to receive a bag of food or warm clothes. That was my moment. No more complaining about the holidays. There are plenty of people who would gladly trade their “have-to” list for mine. So, I’ve changed “have” to “get” and I alredy feel calmer (though I’m not ruling out organic tequila in the future!).
Try it. For today, find gratitude in the holiday chores you “get” to do. Enough worrying about finishing, and more enjoyment in the process. A little less stress, and a little more intention. Even if “everything” isn’t done, at least we’ve decorated with positive energy. Now I’m wondering if “get” will change my attitude toward laundry and mopping the floors too!

Daily Green Special: Receive a free Candle for Peace with your $100 order. Just write “jolly” in the checkout notes and we’ll add the free candle to your order. Offer valid until tomorrow’s post. Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

