How does your garden grow?

Today, I want to open my door and see this.

Granted, I’m not willing to convert my entire front yard to a garden, like Karen at The Art of Doing Stuff.  But, I would like to walk outside and pick today’s salad.

This is the first year (of the past 15 ) that I don’t have a garden.  I hate it.  It became my job to plant and grow the garden this year; and, like many things I have no clue how to do, I wished for a magic fairy (magic Mike?) to show up and surprise me with a completed project.

Once again, they didn’t show.

I figured I’m too late this year to begin planting, but Karen inspired me to get my butt out there & soon I’ll have lettuce, broccoli, and carrots to call my own.  Is it too late for my lemon cucumber seeds?

What I’m really missing, though, is the zucchini.  Less the vegetable, more zucchini bread and zucchini bars (taste just like apple pie!).  You’re welcome to send some zucchini my way, or, per Karen’s request, here’s the recipe to make your own Zucchini (aka apple pie) Bars.  It has been a favorite in my family for years (if you have our Dining for Dystonia Cookbook, you can find it in there too).

Crust:
3 c. flour
1 c. sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
1 c. butter
Mix all ingredients until crust is crumbly. Reserve 1/2 c. for filling. Divide remaining crust in half. Put half in a 9×13 pan and pat down. Bake at 375° for 10 minutes.

Filling:
6 c. zucchini
3/4 c. lemon juice
1 c. sugar
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
Peel & seed zucchini. Chop like an apple. Add lemon juice and simmer in a covered skillet until tender. Do not drain. When tender, add sugar, nutmeg, and cinnamon. Simmer again and add reserved 1/2 c. crust mix and cool. Pour filling on baked crust. Mi 1/2 tsp. cinnamon with remaining crust and spread on top of filling. Bake at 350°for 30 minutes.

Now you have a new dessert to bring the 4th of July cookouts! You’re welcome.

Inspiring a friend to start their planting too? Our Yummy Card Set will kick-start them with baby steps. Each card comes with organic seeds and a recipe: Basil (pesto), Parsley (tabouleh), Chive (chive mashed potatoes), Dill (dilled salmon), Sage (sage and lemon cookies) and Mint (minted green tea).   

Daily Green Special:  Spend $50 and receive a free Yummy Card Set!  Just write “plant me” in the check out notes and we’ll add the free cards to your order.  Offer valid until tomorrow’s post.  Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

