One step at a time…

I’ve heard it said “that people come into our lives for a reason, bringing something we must learn…”

Oops- sorry- still have a bit of Broadway on the brain!

I’ve heard it said that you should do one thing every day that scares you.

It’s kind of an odd thought. I mean, why in the world would I want to drive through the woods on a winding road in the pitch black?

But, I don’t think it’s meant in the literal sense, more the step outside of your comfort zone philosophy. Again, not certain I want to go there either!

Before I had kids I attended a seminar focusing on designing the life you want to live. Mostly figuring out how to achieve your goals. We were taught to start with the end result (the goal) and make a list of each step backwards until step one was where you already were. Essentially, then, all of the steps to achieve your goal were right in front of you.

When I took my daughter to her first Broadway show, the thought flashed that I would do anything to be on stage with them. And in the next moment I realized I really wouldn’t. No director is ever going to walk up and say “Hey, lets put you in this number since that’s what you want!” There is no free pass between the goal and the steps to achieving it. And throughout the years, sometimes goals change.

Change is hard.

Crossing the threshold of your comfort zone is even worse.

But it’s just one step and you’re over it.

Whether your goal is related to work, your family, a trip of a lifetime, or a dramatic change, picture the result and make your reverse list.

Our plantable pocket notepads will keep your steps organized. Once you’ve achieved that final step, plant the notepad you’ll grow wildflowers to remember your journey.

Today I’m having the root canal that was started in New York finished.  I think that’s enough scary for me today.

Daily Green Special: Start a book for each goal, or share with a friend. Our plantable notepads are buy 2 get a 3rd one free! Just write “small steps” in the checkout notes and we’ll add the free notepad to your order. Offer valid until tomorrow’s post. Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

