One Direction: Why the “Where We Are Tour” should be the 8th wonder of the world

They say that you should do one thing that scares you every day. “Scares” seems pretty strong to me, perhaps it’s more like stretching your comfort zone. Maybe it’s watching your kindergartener get on the school bus for the first time; maybe it’s flying alone; or maybe it’s finding yourself with 50,000 others this past weekend. Then again, perhaps scared is the right word for what I felt heading to see One Direction.

http://kisspeoria.com/one-direction-added-a-new-chicago-date/Let me preface- I can probably count on one hand the number of concerts I’ve seen- and a “boy band” hasn’t been one of them.

Yes, this was going to be consumerism in all its glory.  To say this was going to be out of my comfort zone is a huge understatement.  But, for my daughter who doesn’t ask for much, this was her perfect 13th birthday gift. So, I packed up my essential oils and brought my best friend for moral support!

For much of the concert I simply stared in amazement. Not at the band, but at the audience. I have, quite literally, never seen anything like it. Tens of thousands of girls jumping, waving, singing, and crying (that they weren’t the 7-year-old with a broken arm brought on stage & hugged by each of the boys). Frankly, the image was as foreign as if I were standing in front of the Taj Mahal.

I still couldn’t tell you which boy was Liam and which was Niall. I’m fairly certain, though, that any of the 5 could have asked “how’re you feeling Chicago?” for three hours and the screams would have been the same.

http://japan.fjordaan.net/08_koishikawa_ginza.htmlI’ve heard it said that there are stepping stones in life. You may not walk the steps in order, but you’ll touch them all at some point.

At thirteen, boy bands were the farthest thing from my mind, I was still grieving the death of my father. And, by the time I came back to grips with life, that phase seemed to have passed. Until last Saturday when I went back for that missed stone- with my daughter by my side.

In a few short years my new teenager will head off to college (talk about stretching the comfort zone). Maybe by then I will have I will have forgotten the sound of 50,000 ear-piercing screams. Most likely her concert t-shirt will be forgotten in the back of the closet. But, I will never forget the awe-struck bliss of my little girl happy teenager. And, for the one night, I had an inside glimpse of her teenage world.

 

One Direction photo credit.
Stepping stones photo credit.

Leave a Reply

